Montreal?

Is this Paris? No just a parisian Metro stop in Montréal

I enjoyed my trip last week to Montreal. A lot. Like so much that I’d almost wanna move there. The thing that really got me was that, in stark contradiction to life here in Paris – people actually wanna go home early and be with their kids. And no one gives them nasty side looks. Incredible. OK, so there’s like 9 months of winter, well ok maybe only 5 months, but it is such a social city. The people are friendly and there is loads of café culture. The restaurants are good and varied and the town looks nice too. I visited the Xi’an terracotta army exhibit at the Musée des Beaux Arts de Québec and found it excellent in terms of layout and description. A must if you are in Montreal in the next month or two. Anyway, Montreal I will be back. Maybe for good?

Favorite spots: sexiest waitresses at Houston (hey, I am a guy after all!), brunch at Toi Moi & Café, poutine at La Banquise, apple ice wine at The Whiskey Café. My hotel, Hôtel de la Places des Armes was expensive, luxurious, polite but had the one disadvantage of having a very run-of-the-mill breakfast. I suppose that I was disappointed particularly because it was so damn expensive and I would have expected a fresh, kickass breakfast rather than cereal and bread and concentrated OJ.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Montreal?

  1. Philippe says:

    Glad you liked Montreal! next time we’ll get you a different hotel! ;-) did you get that firefighters truck?

Leave a Reply

