Back to School

Nope, this isn't my class

No seriously, I am in a Marketing class for two days. Yeah, a little late since I have already been one of the Marketing Directors for almost two months already. But, as I have been teaching classes this year (thus the posts from Montreal and Tokyo and soon Shanghai), it is nice to be on the other side of the table for once.

Some observations and then I am off to bed:
1/ The iPad is excellent for taking notes and such. Just wish the battery life on 3G/Wifi would last a full 8 hours of constant use on one charge. I was at 60% before the first morning break so I alternated between the iPhone and the iPad for a while then gave up and went to pen and paper.

2/ Anecdotes are a good thing. The guy teaching the class is great: funny, charismatic in a geeky, marketing kind of way, and FULL of stories. Relevant ones that really cement the ideas that he is telling us.

3/ I am seriously underpaid :) If what the class is saying really represents how the “real world” is supposed to operate, I am doing the jobs of at least 3 or 4 people. And then some. Hmm, no wonder I am barely able to think outside work these days :(

4/ Training is made better by lots and lots of interaction. We are particularly lucky because everyone in this session is highly communicative and full of ideas. I suppose that is because this is about marketing and marketing folks tend to be relatively social. But still, it is refreshing (ESPECIALLY IN FRANCE) to be among such a nice, balanced, interesting and interactive group!

Off to bed with me oh dear reader!

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

