Blogging and Ego followed by Raining Cats and Frogs and the Impossible Task

Dilbert about blogging abuse

Does one have to be an egomaniac to become a blogger or is it intrinsically masochistic? From an egotist point of view, I am basically saying to my readers that my words are important enough to float around on this nebulous virtual thing called the web. The masochistic part is the crestfallen look I get when my readership drops from an already pathetic 45 or 50 (sometimes up to 80 :) down to under 15. Now, not everyone out here posts their page stats so I have no idea whether other part-time bloggers like myself are getting in terms of average hits per day as measured by WordPress. I am pretty happy when the count is above 30. Then I made the mistake of looking at the tips page on WordPress concerning how to increase your hits. On that site, a “bad” day was like under 10000 hits or something. I felt like such a loser, but still, I am doing this for my writing skills! Or at least that’s what I told myself.

Awwww!

In all honesty, I am loving doing my almost-daily-with-some-excusable-gaps blogging this year and especially appreciate the several friends, fellow bloggers, random readers and colleagues that have written and encouraged me this year. A big bear hug going out! Without your encouragement and kind words, perhaps the occasionally abysmal hit numbers would become overwhelmingly depressing. But they haven’t and for that: Thank you :)

Raining in Paris

As for the subtitle, it was raining in Paris today and as usual, the average speed of 20 km/h dropped to 5 km/h for most of the ride. I don’t get it. There was not an accident or anything just the slow, wet ride home in a sea of brake lights. It’s not like I wasn’t really hoping for an accident but at least I would have been able to explain the wasted time by one particular idiot rather than 10000 idiots. Oh sorry, other drivers, I mean. Argh. Is it this bad in all big cities in the rain? In Miami this summer, I recall it taking me over an hour to get home in the rain once but I was in North Miami Beach trying to get to Homestead – almost 80km. Tonight, it took me 1h25m to go one-quarter of that distance…In case you missed my rant series as an ex-pat living in Paris, start here and read up to here.

If you don’t mind, I am going to end this here because I finally got Dexter S06E03 and want to see whether the show quality this season is going to improve from what I have already noted is not the best Dexter ever…

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogging and Ego followed by Raining Cats and Frogs and the Impossible Task

  1. Susan says:

    Perhaps those of us who signed up for “instant blog” do not get counted as “hits” each day!

  2. Pingback: Blogging and Ego, Part 2 – Klout | Fino's Weblog

Leave a Reply

