2012: What will this new year bring?

Pessimistic view of the coming year - too negative in my view

Some think that this year will signal the end – there was one of 2010′s worst movies IMHO to this effect. I am not so pessimistic. I think that it will be full of challenges and surprises – certainly elections in Russia, France, and the US will change in some way several political landscapes. As I mentioned yesterday, I just hope that nature won’t give us another bad surprise like early 2011 in Japan.

Perhaps I need to list a few resolutions – or objectives as a friend calls them because she feels they sound more like commitments then:

1/ Blog blog and blog: continue blogging, improving writing skills and – who knows – write some killer bestseller as a result

2/ Cook for the family more often. Now, this will be hard because of my 2-3h of commute but I’d like to reserve enough personal stamina to cook with the kids at least once or twice a week. This past week, I experimented with the idea and had a good time. Some of the recipes I tried: pumpkin and clam raviolis, spaghetti and meatballs (which turned into spaghetti bolognaise because my meat was too lean), meat loaf, pancakes (homemake batter – no Bisquick!), apple pie, and a sort of cheesecake. I found it to be a super experience with the kids – even if a bit messier than just me by myself.

3/ More work-life balance. In-line with #2 above, I want to stop bringing work home and be 100% with the wife and kids when I come home. This will be full of challenges and exceptions but I’ll still take it as a goal.

4/ Another theater that I haven’t visited. Last year, we went to see La Traviata at the Fenice in Venice. This year I’d like to either do the Scala, the Arena in Verona, or perhaps Bayreuth in Bavaria.

So, there you have it. Now I am go gonna continue my quest for catching up on SOA.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 2012: What will this new year bring?

  1. Jon says:

    Resolution suggestion … Not sure if the children are old enough yet, but my family and I just had a great vacation to Hawaii’s Big Island. It so exceeded our expectations. So, whether it is Hawaii or someplace else, be sure to schedule a truly memorable vacation. For next Xmas, I have already reserved a villa on the Tortola beach in the British Virgin Islands. We cannot wait.

  2. Eddie says:

    I agree we are working on more memorable vacations and take plenty of pictures. My wife prints them and put them in a collage and Frame them. My job is to find a place in the house to hang the frames. Everyday servers as a reminder of the memories and fun had during those times. I believe my wife has found a new trend, and another Honey-do taks for me.

Leave a Reply

