Cooking with my kids over the holidays

My homemade apple pie!

One of my resolutions even before the 1st of January was to cook with my kids. I had a blast. We made raviolis with pumpkin and clams (they rolled the pasta and helped fill the raviolis), spaghetti and meatballs (which turned into spaghetti Bolognese because my meat was too lean), a yummy meatloaf, pancakes (homemade batter – no Bisquick!), apple pie (turned out perfect!), cheesecake (turned out too liquid – to be revisited!), and this morning Jackie’s mac-and-cheese (ok it was actually someone that emailed it to her but I thought it was yummy). They were all super fun to do. I just wish I had less of a commute everyday so that I could cook with them more often. Most of the recipes (other than the legendary mac-and-cheese) came out of Easy Comfort Food by Sheryn Jones which I can highly recommend as easy to follow and make and guaranteed to produce smiles and happy tummies.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Being Dad and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

