Getting older but not wiser?

Man, I came to the realization this morning that getting old sucks. Between the busted meniscus in my knee and the crick in my neck this morning, I got a rude reminder of my 42 years of age and it was unpleasant. I then saw a neighbor that told me his 90-year old dad just told him the same thing yesterday: “I forget my keys (they were in the car), I forget my glasses (they were on the TV), and it takes me almost 30 minutes just to get dressed. It sucks getting old.” Everything is relative, I know, but still, it’s lame. I used to be the youngest person on nearly every team I worked on. Now, I am in about middle of the pack. And yet, perhaps due to my outspoken personality, I haven’t busted the glass ceiling so there is a little frustration there as well. On the positive side? Well, two kids that are wonderful and growing up and my writing seems to be improving due to the nearly compulsive-obsessive blogging here on WordPress.com. But wiser? I am not quite sure. While it is true that I am able to add much more perspective on things than I could in, say, my 20′s or 30′s, I still get rattled by things – particularly incertitude and injustice. I guess that’s gonna stay with me well into my ripe old age. That is, assuming of course, that I quit smoking, lose weight, and start exercising again. And that last one is dependent on my damn knee and neck to heal quickly and adequately. So, there you have it. Stay young and naïve. You’ll live longer :)

About Michael Finocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

