Blogging and Ego, Part 3 – Knitting Gnomes of the World, Unite!

I guess I am a glutton for punishment sometimes. I made the fatal mistake of checking my Alexa Score (13,357,817) and my Google PageRank (1 out of 10) for this blog. Both scores were underwhelming, not to say depressing. I know this is only a part-time venture and that I should be doing it only for the joy of creation and improving my writing skills and all that, but it sort of annoys me to be considered less popular or interesting than sites about gnomes (http://www.gnomespixiesandmore.com/ scores 4,784,516 with a PageRank of 3 out of 10) or knitting for men (http://www.menwhoknit.com scores 1,179,747 with a Page Rank of 4 out of 10). So, what am I doing wrong here? Perhaps I need to write some articles about garden gnome knitting parties and my PR will skyrocket and my Score will plummet!

Actually, I got to thinking about this because I wondered how those lucky souls get they pages on Fresh Pressed here on WordPress.com. But then I checked the Like count on those articles – there were like between 200 and 400 likes on them. I am lucky to get a handful of likes if any. ‘Course, perhaps those blogs were also obscure corners of the web like mine until propelled into the spotlight by a keen-eyed WordPress editor.  In their Top 5 tips for making it to fame and fortune, they mention that swearwords are an instant no-way (sh*t, there goes this one too) as do illegally obtained images. I am a little phased on that one because if it is on Google and I reference the original site, isn’t that about as legal as I need to get? Well, here’s to my brave readers that have put off reading about knitting gnomes to check out my posts – thanks! Seriously, when I check my hit count (semi-obsessively several times a day to be perfectly frank), I feel good when it increases even if the numbers are well under 100. I sincerely appreciate your follows, likes, and comments and hope that the content I am putting out here continues to entertain and, perhaps occasionally, inspire.

Then again, perhaps it is my fault for mistaking the many folks trying to sell me some kind of SEO (Search Engine Optimization) solutions via bogus comments on my blog. I get at least two or three of these a day in my spam queue. Perhaps they are harmless, but I am not comfortable with allowing these comments as the insincerity of posting something so that I’ll in turn buy something is a bit too hypocritical for me. But then perhaps they have killer PR and Alexa Scores and I don’t. Who knows.

Hey, my Klout.com ranking jumped up to 40! There is hope after all :)

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blogging and Ego, Part 3 – Knitting Gnomes of the World, Unite!

  1. David Froehling says:

    Keep up the good work and hopefully the scores will follow.

  2. rbarbier1967 says:

    Rankings, traffic scores, and amount of visitors does not a great blog make. Its all about how much the blog makes you feel good and how it helps express who you are. Dont worry eventualy all of the rankings will rise, just keep blogging from your heart and mind. Good luck :)

Leave a Reply

