Season Beginnings: Mad Men, Game of Thrones, Hell on Wheels

Both Mad Men and Game of Thrones just recently kicked off again. I am still sad to have to wait nearly a year to see how things turn out for Hank of Californication, Raylan of Justified, and Marty of House of Lies and super0impatient to see what happens with Walt on Breaking Bad in July, but in the meantime, the 7 competitors for the Iron Throne as well as Mr. Draper, Megan, and the rest of the agency will have to do. Game of Thrones seems to be just a strong in terms of fantasy, spfx and writing as S01 with new characters and intrigues. More on this as the season wears on. As for Man Men, as my mom said, it is really more of the same. I do really like the new guy they hired though – the show needed more comic relief.

also discovered, thanks to iTunes, a new show called Hell on Wheels about the beginning of the railroad industry. I have only watched the pilot and feel it is kind of a rip-off of the Deadwood idea (Hell-on-Wheels is the name of the migrant city building the Union Pacific from east to west from what I can tell). The Indians are really well done though, and the intrigue seems, well, OK. I’ll try another episode or two to see whether it is worth going to the end. But, at least so far, Deadwood, this is not.

Cheers and thanks for reading.

About Michael Finocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in TV Series and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Season Beginnings: Mad Men, Game of Thrones, Hell on Wheels

  1. yaykisspurr says:

    I found Hell on Wheels not worth the time. I watched the season premiere and a couple more but just didn’t find it really going anywhere or really exploring much. I loved the look of the show though and enjoy the odd western here and there so I wasn’t adverse to it succeeding…

    I just started watching Mad Men this season. I hated the first episode I had originally tried (Betty tries to pick up a tow truck operator) and dropped it. I decided it was time to try it again. I find it a tad dull…a lot of building the story to get to the meaty parts…actually this last episode, where the redhead kicks her husband to the curb, was quite good and I’m definitely warming to the show. I enjoyed the episode where Betty was fat…not sure why it just sparked an interest I guess.

    I have to admit I will seriously miss Justified!

    And I really wish I could watch Game of Thrones but it’s on HBO. hehe. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

