Traveling with Kids: The Numbers Game

I am off to Miami with the two kids. Only, it is just me this time – the wife is staying home to study. Frankly, this scares the living sh*t out of me, but I am trying to maintain my cool. Here is the trip by the numbers:

1 frazzled adult male father
2 year-old daughter
3 iPads loaded as will be explained later on
4 hours on the ground between the 2h check-in and the infamous Miami customs and baggage claim
5 year-old son
6 hour time difference
7 47 airplane but old, crappy 400 model without individual TVs on Air France :(
8 hours of flight time between the two meals to entertain the two little munchkins
9 h30m total flight time. An adventure to be sure.

Preparation of the iPads has been an obsession for me these last few days. I decided to take all three and set them up as follows:

iPad 1 – for my daughter loaded with Sesame Street, The Aristocats, and the Rescuers plus a few games and such
iPad 2 – for my son with Ninjago, Star Wars I, loads more games, and Sam Sam
iPad 3 – same as the other two with MoneyBall and Aliens for me as well as backup copies of stuff from iPad 1 and 2.

I also have some sticker books and snacks. Wish me luck!

 

About Michael Finocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Being Dad and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Traveling with Kids: The Numbers Game

  1. Praveen says:

    Daddy’s day out ?? !!! Good Luck

  2. It’s really not easy travelling with kids. it helps to bring things that will make them busy while travelling. Good luck on your travel.

  3. Good luck Fino! We struggle with two kids and both parents are there. Alone with two like this…what you need to load your iPads with is….patience!

    Enjoy the trip and time off. By the time you come back, I’ll be leaving Vélizy for a little R&R in Spain and then back to the US of A. We’ll miss you!

    French community starting to take shape for when we get back in the USA: http://www.moliereawestford.wordpress.com.

  4. yaykisspurr says:

    These are my favorite of your posts…good luck on your travels and don’t forget to have fun! Cheers :)

Leave a Reply

