Immersive parenting

This is my first time to travel alone with the kids. Ok, I have my mom and dad here, but still it is soooo intense to deal with every mealtime, bath time, changing time…anything but relaxing. Then there is the pressure to ensure that schedules are kept, the kids are entertained but not over-stimulated, well-fed and in bed ontime…Don’t get me wrong, it is not like I am not happy to spend this quality time with them, but it is exhausting. And yes, I can more fully appreciate my wife’s fatigue. Honestly, I don’t think I could do this full time. Perhaps, over time, this becomes easier because they become more independent. Or not. I guess time will tell. My respect goes out heartily to the single, working mothers and fathers out there. I guess we don’t talk about parenting as hard work quite enough. I think that compartmentalization is a key – keep completely concentrated on them while you are in the pit and stay both focused on the task at hand and the next thing on your list. Not that I am a model of that, but I don’t see how you keep your cool otherwise. I’ll just close by saying that immersive parenting is not for everyone…oops, gotta run because there was a bedwetting incident…

About Michael Finocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Being Dad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Immersive parenting

  1. lili c. says:

    Great insight Cousin…

Leave a Reply

