NSFCCDP Movie Review: The Avengers (2012)

Finally, a great super-hero movie! The monthly geek movie night here in blustery Paris was attended by a record crowd of 6: comein.com, total.com, m.poulet, papa.de.virgile, et kerhaourn plus myself (sorry but I couldn’t think of better pseudonyms for some of you!). I promise I won’t do any spoilers here for those who might go see this over the weekend. In terms of special effects, they were pretty spectacular – especially the fight scenes and the Iron-Man-gets-tossed-around-in-a-giant-turbine one. The dialog is also great. I think one thing that makes this film is that with 8 actors, Robert Downey, Jr’s humor is counter-balanced and stays light and even hilarious rather than a bit heavy and annoying like in the Iron Man flicks. The biggest surprise is the extraordinary Hulk performance by Ruffalo. Probably the best of all the Marvel Comics films over the last few years, The Avengers will keep us waiting on pins and needles until 2015 for The Avengers 2! Just one little nitpick though, let me know in the comments if the final personality changes for two of the heroes and one of the minor characters were not a little dopey. And perhaps, The Avengers is just a warm up for the new Batman flick this summer which is looking mighty good as well.

Oh yeah, Scarlett was predictably hot as the Black Widow – almost worth the price of admission alone :)

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to NSFCCDP Movie Review: The Avengers (2012)

  1. Rick says:

    Can’t wait! Opens today. I do see many movies (was The Watchmen the last one?) but I’m really excited for this one.

  2. yaykisspurr says:

    What are the personality changes you’re talking about? I did like Downey scaled back slightly so he didn’t take over…a mark in his favor as an actor playing a character and not just himself.

    This movie definitely was as good as the hype! Hulk/Ruffalo, not my favorite, wowed me as both Bruce Banner and the green giant! And I loved Captain America as the leader. Cheers!

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      You know, how the Hulk is all crazy and can’t get along with anyone, but after falling into that farmer’s barn he is suddenly like, he guys what’s up, let’s party against the bad guys? Also, the fact that the Dr. So-an-So and Hawkeye just need a knock on the head and suddenly Loki’s power over them just vanishes. See what I mean?

      • yaykisspurr says:

        ahhhh…interesting perspective on those. I understood Hulk’s changes were about Bruce having more control but now that I think more on it I can see your point about the disconnect. And I too wondered about the knock on the head being enough…I thought that was a little suspicious too. Especially since Hawkeye’s personality seemed especially perfect for that particular mind control since he’s all about completing the mission to the point he doesn’t care about the outcome details. Cheers :)

      • mfinocchiaro says:

        Great point about Hawkeye, I hadn’t seen it that way but it fits!

        I think the best scenes were: Iron Man in the giant turbine, the battle of Iron Man and Thor, and when Hulk sucker punches Iron Man near the end.

      • yaykisspurr says:

        I liked Cap’s role in that turbine scene and actually I enjoyed all the scenes where Iron Man acted like devil’s advocate with another of the heroes. My favorite though is “puny god” when Hulk sucker punches Loki!

  3. Pingback: NSFCCDP: The Amazing Spider-Man (2012) – Umm, did they actually make a worst movie than the original one they were re-making? | Fino's Weblog

  4. Pingback: NSFCCDP Film Review: Jack Reacher (2012) – Tom Cruise perfectly balanced | Fino's Weblog

  5. Pingback: NSFCCDP – 2012 – The Film Year in Review: A Bumper Crop! | Fino's Weblog

  6. Pingback: NSFCCDP Movie Review: Oblivion (2013) – Tom and Morgan Save the World, Again | Fino's Weblog

Leave a Reply

