Off on vacation…assorted musings

I am off for two weeks with the wife and kid at La Tranche sur Mer in the Vendée. Some projects I plan for early September (so please come back soon 🙂

– More soft topics (what I am reading non-professionally)
– More technical stuff as well
– More playing with widgets

Trying to figure out what tool to use for reminders. Outlook Tasks has always worked well for me but since friggin’ iPhone 2.0 software on my iPod Touch syncs mail, calendar, and contacts but NOT tasks :(. It blows rocks. So, maybe I’ll try Remember the Milk (although that means I’ll need to shovel out $9.99 for the AppStore app to use an off-line version on my iPod Touch, $25 for a 1-year RTM subscription (and what happens year 2 – no more reminders?) in order to sync with my web account – or find another tool that is multi-platform and sync-safe. Ideas?

I’ll also be reading Web 2.0: A Strategy Guide by Amy Shuen (O’Reilly) and the (unknown over here in Europe AFAIK) infamous Getting Things Done by David Allen.

Following Gina’s advice over at lifehacker.com, I also spent a few hours (but need at least 3 or 4 more) getting my passwords into KeePass/KeyPassX. One tip for Mac/VMware XP users: create both the keyfile and the master key database on your shared drive so that it is transparent whether you are using XP or Leopard. Works perfect 🙂 I think I’ll sleep better knowing I have more secure passwords. At least that’s the theory…I also found that the initial filling of fields was easier in XP as some of the lists don’t seem to be prepopulated on the KeePassX version for Leopard. And one gripe: no client of the iPod or iPod Touch or the BlackBerry that I could find…Now I need to do the Firefox export bit.

I am starting to doubt that I’ll be able to get an unblocked iPhone 3G while over in Boston in a few weeks. So, do I shell out 599€ for the unblocked one here in Paris or just stick with my iPod Touch

I am changing jobs in mid-September and want to get all my sh*t together.

Have a great summer.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Web 2.0 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Off on vacation…assorted musings

  1. Get a 3G iPhone, you won’t regret it!

    The software quirks will be ironed out shortly and the iPhone is really a paradigm shift for mobile phones (like the original Macs was for DOC PCs).

    Truly amazing (or should I say incredibly great )

  2. Alex says:

    Your blog is interesting!

    Keep up the good work!

Leave a Reply

