Obsessional GTD

I wonder if I am just nuts of if others have had this mania: I read the GTD book as I have previously mentioned and have been working to implement it in my personal life before a major job change. My thinking is that if I get this stuff right NOW, I will be more efficient and productive LATER. However, I am finding that one can get into quite a fix implementing GTD depending on how far one allows oneself to dive. There are macro- (Allen’s book) and micro- (Lifehacker) approaches and as I start trying to work at one level, typically the macro level, I still slip down and spend lots and lots of time at the micro level. I end up asking myself if the time and energy spent in trying to save time and energy isn’t governed by the law of diminishing returns…I feel like I have been a gtdnazi to myself for the last month or so and need to lay off it a bit.

Anyone else out there get GTD burn out?

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in gtd and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Obsessional GTD

  1. dannielo says:

    For implementing GTD you might try out this web-based application:

    http://www.Gtdagenda.com

    You can use it to manage your goals, projects and tasks, set next actions and contexts, use checklists, schedules and a calendar.
    A mobile version and iCal are available too.

    Hope you like it.

  2. Prathap Yalavarthi says:

    I first heard about GTD last year summer time. Since then I have read countless articles and tried numerous softwares. I have wasted substantial amount of time in trying to find best way to save time. So I can understand what are going through.
    One thing I changed is that I am writing everything on paper and gave up using my memory. That itself brought lot of change in me. It not only helped me to be productive, but also to break down bigger things to smaller ones which gives motivation to start new things.
    Though I am more of digital person, irony is that so far I found pen and paper are best for me in implementing GTD. As RTM has tight integration with gmail, that helps me to update the list quickly.
    If you want to try something simple but along the same lines of GTD, check out ZTD at zenhabits.net site. I think Leo hit the nail by coming up with minimalistic ZTD just for people like me. See if it is of any help to you.
    BTW, congratulations on your new job. Looks like you went back to IBM again.

    Regards,
    Prathap

  3. YogiRavi says:

    I tried GTD, but have a different strategy that works better for me…it’s all about DOING MEANINGFUL ONE THING every day.

    I wrote more about it here:

    http://sethigherstandards.com/2010/11/24/one-powerful-technique-to-get-things-done/

  4. Pingback: GTD Review | Fino's Weblog

Leave a Reply

