More fun in the new world

Survived first week at new job. Somewhat worried though about how to get use out of my iPhone there due to the use of Lotus Notes and their IT Dept mistrust of security on the iPhone (read no near-term implementation of iNotes). Problem is how to at LEAST get a Calendar/Contact sync between the two. Lots of hairy problems: no existing bridge from MobileMe to Notes, since I no longer have access to an Exchange server I can’t get the sync from Notes over to Exchange and from there to the iPhone, trying to do so wiped all the contacts off the phone. Grrr. Gotta figure this out.

Then there’s a problem as the laptop provided is underpowered and running XP so I wanna keep using my Mac. Well, the only supported Mac VPN client is the Apani Nortel one and it refuses to connect. Can’t figure out whether something in the kernel is interfering or if I just wasted the $95 for the license. I tried another VPN client and noticed that despite my uninstall, I get some console warnings that indicate that the software is still in the kernel. So, reinstall hoping that will fix the issue? What a headache.

Otherwise, I still have a lot to learn but it’s all pretty exciting despite the hurdles I just mentioned. Seems to me that I need to work around the impediments in a manner that doesn’t sap my morale and still gives me some satisfaction. A tall order indeed.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in gtd, iPhone 3G and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to More fun in the new world

  1. Pingback: More fun in the new world » iPhone Tricks

Leave a Reply

