GMST

A proposal: rename Getting Things Done (GTD) to Getting My Shit Together (GMST).

My progress in GTD/GMST:
1/ I created lists using Remember the Milk (RTM) using priorities but given a hectic schedule and three places which I work from, I am only managing a “super” list of tasks and can’t get down to the granularity of NEXT ACTIONS vs. PROJECTS, etc.
2/ I am also unable to collate tasks into projects very easily and find that when I have tried, I lose track of important todos that get buried in the project details.
3/ Not quite sure how or with what tools but what I would need is a macro and micro view of todos by priority and project almost simultaneously. I suppose that could be done by tagging projects but even that becomes convoluted after about two to three weeks.
4/ As far as GUIs are concerned – particularly for the iPhone – I can’t really settle on using one of either RTM or ToDo because both have their good points in terms of editing (RTM) and good points in terms of lists (ToDo) but neither really does a good enough job at each. Perhaps someone else has had a better experience to share?
5/ Multiple ToDo lists. Unfortunately, I can’t get to a single repository. I use Todo’s in Gmail (a tag called _TODO actually), Firefox (a Bookmark Toolbar Menu item) and RTM/Todo lists on the iPhone/Mac not too mention work todo’s which end up in Notes (ToDo folder again) or Lotus Activities. Anyone more successful in coalescing all of these???
6/ Weekly Review – still have not found the time to do this for the last several months. A source of frustration for me. Course, if I wanted to I could consider this post a weekly review of sorts but then these posts aren’t weekly but monthly…

Well, off to Asia (Tokyo and Seoul) for a two-week business trip. Hopefully, will have more free time for posting.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in gtd, iPhone 3G, Web 2.0 and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to GMST

  1. Dan says:

    Great post.

    I would recommend checking out http://www.Gtdagenda.com for an online GTD manager.

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      If I hadn’t already given money to both ToDo and RTM…it is a good suggestion. I’ll try to read up on it a bit to see – but I am not sure it has an iPhone interface…

Leave a Reply

