Harry Potter VII – Part 1

Personally, I left the HP stories after volume 4 (order of the Phoenix I believe, or was it the Chamber of Secrets), and to my memory I only saw the first 3 films. Last week, I decided to make the jump to the penultimate movie – and this without even cheating on Wikipedia to understand what I had missed (I have since cheated btw). As a movie, it was a bit belaboured with Harry&Co hiding out most of the time not really going after the Hoxacroxes or whatever those things they needed to destroy are called. The Ministry of Magic was very cool in a sort of Brazil/1984 kind of way. And the camera work was great – a bit of a Lord of the Rings throwback. Speaking of Lord of the Rings, there was also a bit of borrowing from the Ring with the nefarious psychological impact on the wearer of the amulet before it is finally destroyed by the miraculous and timely re-appearance of Ron. I suppose that either (a) I should have read the other books to appreciate the plot better or (b) I am just getting too damn old but honestly I am not all that encouraged for HPVIIP2 next summer. As I mentioned before, I did cheat via Wikipedia so I know that there will be a big battle of Hogworths…but perhaps Rowling got a bit confused on the soul shards thing because even having read the piece in Wikipedia, it sounds a bit far fetched…perhaps a real Harry fan will tell me that things are far clearer in the original books?

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in books, Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Harry Potter VII – Part 1

  1. Pingback: Lion and Movie Review: Harry Potter VIIP2 | Fino's Weblog

Leave a Reply

