Friday Night is all right…and Garmin advice for runners

For sleeping now. My daughter is still waking up between 2 and 4 am most nights for a bottle so sleep is at a premium around our apartment. Oh, the joys of parenthood!

I suppose that I should write something interesting: how I started blogging? Well, as an IT guy, I figured it was the logical way to keep up with the relentless pace of social media in a participatory manner. I’ve been on Facebook for about 3 or 4 years now but actually find blogging and reading other’s blogs much more entertaining and fulfilling. It is so hard to think of something interesting to write on a daily basis, so once again thanks to WordPress.com for the postaday2011 and postaweek2011 challenges!

Last quick note: I post my runs via MapMyRun+ on my iPhone 3GS and Garmin Connect via my 310XT. Actually I use both systems because almost without fail, one of the two GPS will fuck up and so I have a backup to ensure a shard of accuracy. I am actually tweeting from MapMyRun+ but correcting the data on the iPhone should the watch disagree with the distance. I am not thrilled with the MapMyRun+ application (see my marathon post back in April 2010) but their website is good. As for the 310XT, my 405GX was stolen from a hotel room so I replaced it with this one due to its waterproof capability. It is not bad – I say that because I actually had to replace one due to a busted GPS. It is relatively simple to use (I prefer the buttons to the cadran-style of the 405) and the screen is rather large. I highly suggest the quick release bike mount and the velcro wristband as accessories!

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Being Dad and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

