Arctic Monkeys vs. The Strokes

Still trying to find a band that can beat the Arctic Monkeys, I gave The Strokes their chance. Just like Arctic Monkeys, they have three albums out and again just like the Arctic Monkeys, their first one made quite a splash. I have the original CD with the Spinal Tap-style cover (god the one that they censored it with looks awful!). It is a great album but you know, I couldn’t help feeling a little cheated in the sense that the guitar licks were begged borrowed and stolen from all over the place: Tom Petty’s American Girl, GNR’s Sweet Child of Mine, any number of Lou Reed licks because of all the throwbacks to the Velvet Underground…I guess the inventiveness was interesting but I found it a bit contrived. That being said, my right hand instinctively reaches for the volume in the car when New York City Cops comes up on the iPod. But…their second album sounded a bit less inspired and the third was completely flat. OK, so I still have to re-listen to Humbug as mentioned in the comments, but I have to once again give the nod to Arctic Monkeys for my preference between the two.

So who should be next? Trying to decide because I need a 00’s band that rocks but stays a bit in the alternative space…Coldplay is clearly too pop (and mostly too low-key). Arcade Fire is way too down-tempo (at least for me), perhaps Kings of Leon…what do you think? Feel free to sound off in the comments.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Arctic Monkeys vs. The Strokes

  1. Poulet says:

    I have a weak spot for Interpol, have you listened to Antics ? Push the volume up and make your windows shiver on “slow hands” …

Leave a Reply

