Has it been a month already?

since I started this postaday challenge? Well, almost. I read about the challenge on about the 7th or 8th and already had the intention of getting my blogging ass in gear for 2011! And so I have. Problem is, as you can imagine, coming up with (a) the time and (b) the ideas for new posts everyday. I suppose I can be proud of having kept up about for 27 days out of 31 in January. And this is the latest in a record stream of 22 posts in a row! Yippie!

But, I got to thinking. I am kind of a lowsy blogal citizen. I mean my blogal etiquette is not that great considering that I don’t take barely any time during the day to read what others are blogging. I mean, if someone (and thanks to those that have!) reads my entry and makes the generous step of leaving a comment, I rush over to see their blog (OK, I don’t always leave a comment over there in return but I always reply to comments on my blog). That being said, I guess that perhaps I overdid it back when I was using Google Reader. What I mean is that I cataloged something like 15000 sites and blogs and thought naïvely that I’d be able to filter them and somehow keep abreast. Well, about 5 newsreaders and 2 years later, I can’t stand those RSS feeds anymore. I still have “Yahoo! Pipes” on my Tickler list but it gets pushed out by 6 months everytime it comes due. I suppose I am still too interrupt-driven. At my job, they really have meetingitis so the moments of calm (or meetingless days) are quite rare. I am usually preparing for a meeting or running off to another one and otherwise trying in improve on my arsenal of PowerPoint so other than the occasional peek over at LifeHacker, MacRumors or Mashable, and keeping my GMail inbox clean, I don’t really hit the blogs too much.

When I got back to Outlook (after an 18-month nightmarish Lotus Notes hiatus), I made the error of importing my RSS feeds into Outlook – reader beware – that was a really dumb idea. Their built-in reader is, well, crap. Better to stick with Google Reader, NetNewsWire, or Expresso…

Well, I am off to continue the Einstein biography and Gödel, Escher and Bach. Light, nerdy reading 🙂 But you have to admit, one gets quite giddy reading about general relativity in parallel with koans and Gödelian math!

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in gtd and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Has it been a month already?

  1. I just want to say I am beginner to blogging and site-building and certainly savored this page. Likely I’m planning to bookmark your site . You certainly have tremendous articles and reviews. Regards for sharing your webpage.

Leave a Reply

