Getting Old, Argh! My Knee! and my son’s birthday!

Getting old has some advantages: not getting carded for beer (or is that really a disadvantage?), knowing more or less what you want and having most of it, in my case having established a family and having a stable center…and one of the great ones was quietly (well taking into account the volume of a toddler) celebrating my son’s 4th birthday today. Yes, he officially went from “3 and a half” to 4 today. He got a Crayola stamping kit, a world magnet map, and 5 books. Plus a daddy-made apple pie for his at-school party and a small lemon meringue tarte for his bday cake at home with candles. Tomorrow is the “big” party with 13 of his friends at the ToyClub with a Pirate Theme. Pictures to come on Facebook…

Now as for the Argh! in the subject line of this post, as you have noticed, I have been training for my 2nd marathon for a while now. Well, “was” because my knee has been acting up. Today, I had to stop after about 2 miles because it was killing me. The doc this evening said it was a slipped meniscus. One to three weeks with no running which puts the marathon which is 9 weeks away in jeopardy. So, that was a bit of a bummer for me today. At least there’ll be the bday party for my son tomorrow to cheer me up 🙂

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in life-in-france and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

