Just missed the boat…and memories of fishing in Miami

Off to a well-needed vacation with kid #1 and wife tomorrow. As previously mentioned, I may or may not be able to continue posting from Villars-sur-Ollons. Rest assured however, faithful reader, that you will get a full review of this new Club Med experience as the one I gave you back last summer.

In a kind of melancholy note, I often feel as how I just missed the boat. I am too young for Generation X (the true “Xers” are 45 to 50 by my count), way too old for Generation Facebook and not even sure what would fit in-between. I just missed the first national championship of my Florida Gators football team in the 1996 season because I had moved to France that year. I also missed out on both the boom and bust of Silicon Valley and feel like I am sitting out yet another rebirth of that fabled center of all things nerd-like by working over here in Paris. There again, Paris seems to have passed its creative peak from the late 80’s/early 90’s when Noir Désir and Daft Punk were just starting out. Its like that expression “always the bridegroom”…but then one wonders whether those who are “on the boat” actually realize or appreciate that they are…then again, I can point to having seen U2 twice BEFORE Achtung Baby! and the Pop Tour and I was at UF when Emmitt Smith was a freshman…silver lining?

Perhaps we are always hankering for that fabled greener grass? Or perhaps I can just blame the feeling on an absent father? Speaking of boats, we had one when I was a kid and I have some fond memories of fishing off the Miami coast. I think the most vivid memory is from one time when we got up at about 4am to go looking in the deep water for sailfish. I don’t even think we actually caught anything but a smallish marlin that day. I remember actually not being all that interested in the fishing but more in the feeling of being out in the open water on the little boat. That gentle rocking back and forth and salty breeze through my hair. I used to read down in the cabin. I’d catch all kinds of shit for being the bookish nerd reading while others were fishing and stuff, but for me it was paradise to have 1 to 2 hours to myself, almost no interruptions and just lose myself in C.S. Lewis or J.R.R Tolkien or whatever it was that I was reading at the time. It was always with a pang of regret when we’d fire the outboard back up again and head in. Not to mention the dreaded “wash the boat” once we were back ashore. Nonetheless, I loved going to sleep and as I closed my eyes, I could still feel that gentle rocking back and forth. And sometimes I could still hear the gulls as well…

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in nostalgia and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

