On being a Dad

Day 2 in Villars, my son decided to stay the whole day in Mini Club. Well, that’s a rather banal statement you might say. Actually, it is an accomplishment because the last three attempts in vacation to have him pass some time with kids his own age were almost utter failures. And why do I attach significance to this? For me this points to his growth in maturity and independence. Plus, if all goes well, he’ll become a great skier someday and we’ll be able to surf and ski together.

This got me thinking about before and after I became a dad. Back in my 20s and early 30s, I worried that I would never have the patience to be a good dad. I didn’t really have a good example to emulate and have always been very impulsive and so I worried and procrastinated. Ok, there was also the aspect of travel and partying that also intervened but I sincerely questioned my ability to be a dad.

Now at nearly 42, as a dad of a 4 year old and a 1 year old (and that’s most likely where things will remain), I realized that I had reserves of patience I never suspected. You have got to when your baby cries for hours on end or your toddler throws a tantrum. Despite my previous impetuousness, I able to remain calm in the eye of the storm. Is it just being older or more mature? Actually, I think it is a matter of necessity. I think that we are probably born dads (well those of us who are healthy and sane that is) to contradict and twist out of context de Beavoir. In any case, the reduction in personal freedom can be rather oppressive at times and patience does get a bit worn, but I am proud of the dad i have discovered in myself.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Being Dad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

