Thoughts on snowbarding

Despite the advice of my doctor, I could not resist the urge to do snowboarding here during my vacation. My knee doesn’t really hurt other than the occasional fall and getting back up but I really don’t think I am doing any further damage to myself. At least I hope I’m not.

As a boy from Florida, I never saw snow before I was 20 and didn’t have an opportunity to learn a winter sport before I was 30. At that point I decided that it would be faster and perhaps safer to learn snowboarding. And so a surfer was born. Ok so I am never gonna be doing 360s or 540s or half-pipes. I’m more happy just carving up red and black trails with nice moguls and drifts. What I don’t like are the “tire-fesses” for which I don’t even know the English word. Even after boarding off and on for over 10 years, I still groan when the only way up is being pulled up. Here I wiped out twice already on the damn things. Jeesh.

There is definitely something exhilirating when your mind isn’t even actively working any longer but your body has just integrated the dance between the board, the snow and yourself. The edges just seem to swap by themselves. The eyes are just scanning the next 10 to 15 meters for rocks, ice patches, ditches or other obstacles. And so it goes. Kind of a speedy zen. There is also, ofncourse, the more hardcore walls or mogul runs where I find that I talk to myself for encouragement as I am bounced around and my equilibrium is challenged at almost every turn which is equally exhilarating.

The one regret is that I didn’t learn earlier because I know there is a low threshold to what I can do on the board. I will probably never lose that panicky feeling when my speed gets up too high on a smooth descent when I start doubting my capacity to be able to stop if necessary. I definitely will never do the aforementioned half-pipes and so forth. But, within the limited time (one week a year a best) i dispose of for winter sports, I am thrilled to have found my groove with the stick.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in life-in-france and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

