The Music of the Cylinders

I had an IRM of my knee yesterday. Funny how you lie there with your leg inside this massive cylinder and there is this sound of pump-pump-click-pump-pump-click of the hydraulic system like a techno backbeat. Then the whole machine starts to grind and groan at different tonalities and volumes but mostly deafening – thank goodness for the earplugs that were provided! It is a unique experience really. I just let my mind go for the ten minutes imagining it was some sort of music of the spheres of our modern world. I was brought back to reality by the voice of my kid timidly saying “Papa” over the PA from the control room.

Unfortunately, the prognosis was a fractured meniscus and 3 months with no running. I’ll get a second opinion but the radiologist said that surgery to remove the busted piece would just create more problems 15-20 years later…sucks in any case for my marathon.

The cause was most likely age and perhaps pushing the training a little hard. I was trying to do either biking, swimming or running 5 to 6 days per week. I guess my body is telling me that I need to lay off a bit. But I don’t wanna. No, I don’t have a choice. Doc says I can continue biking and swimming though…

 

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Being Dad and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

