Apologies and living in a tourist trap

I have not been keeping up on my #postaday2011 challenge this past week so I wanted to offer a sheepish apology. It turns out that blogging every day…well it is really hard! I mean you gotta come up with something funny or witty or at the very least interesting to say and that is not always easy. Anyway, my excuse is that I am delivering a training this week and in fact I gotta run and work on it some more…

But just before that, I wanted to share some thoughts about living in a tourist trap. Well, yeah, Paris is like tourist central. We get 75M tourists here per year. Yep, that’s more than the population of the entire country. And I live smack-dab in the middle of the city – right near some of the biggest magnets for folks with cameras around their necks and hotel maps in their sweaty palms: Opera, Galleries Lafayette, Montmartre, les Grands Boulevards…What is kind of surreal is when I come home from work in my car and I am passing like tour bus after tour bus. Or, like tonight, when I am coming out of the doctor’s office and on my way back to the metro, I am crossing hordes of tourists gaping through shop windows and pointing at Opera Garnier. OK, so perhaps one gets jaded after a while. I mean in 15 years, I guess I don’t really say WOW to myself EVERY TIME I see Garnier and it is spectacular. What I am trying to say is that one feels a bit strange and outside of oneself when one is still wrapped up in his daily life and routine, on his way home to wife and kids, and he is passing literally 100s of folks who are only here for fun and sights. Perhaps it is a good thing because this way the work stuff kind of goes into perspective. Also, Paris is a bit unique in the sense that there are not really neighborhoods which so not seem to have people actually living there like say Florence or St Petersburg or even, say, Williamsburg, VA. Well, to all you tourists surrounding me out there in the Parisian streets – enjoy your visit and don’t take the Frenchies as serious as they take themselves 🙂 and watch out for the dog shit!!

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in life-in-france and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Apologies and living in a tourist trap

  1. vivian says:

    i stumbled here after some random googling about rue bleue. I am thinking of getting an apartment on rue bleue for part of the summer and wanted an idea as to what the area is like? many thanks!

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      It is a pleasant neighborhood that is practical for right-bank living because it is right in-between Opera, Montmartre, Gare du Nord, and les Grands Boulevards. It is NOT green (only a handful of worn-out parks) and has a large concentration of public works at the moment due to the re-vamping of the bus network. There are great restaurants and cafés and it is pretty lively…is that the kind of idea you were looking for?

Leave a Reply

