A Nerd Looks (Back) at Forty

Inspired by ‘A Pirate Looks at Forty’ by Jimmy Buffet (1974)

Mother fucking FORTRAN, I remember your function calls
Wanted to get rid of your leading spaces and that isn’t all
At least you weren’t Cobol, at least you weren’t Cobol

In the years since then, C has come and gone,
C++ was too heavy, Pascal just to messy
Java has come to stay, Ruby might have its day

Yes, I am a nerd but too far from Silly V
There ain’t no more Googles or Suns or Facebooks
I’m an over-forty victim of fate
Arriving too late, arriving too late

I moved on to pre-sales, marketing, r&d
I started in graphics and evolved into PLM but now I’m a father of two
And a husband to boot, and a husband to boot

I have been working on this bug now for over two weeks,
Thought I had it figured out but it just broke again
So I gotta stop hackin’, got to start writin’
Got to start bloggin’ again
Writing to my internet friends, writing to my internet friends

(instrumental)

I am clearly outspoken, I do not let things slide
My inbox is empty, my Todos under control
Remember the Milk is always updated but
I still feel residual stress, still feel residual stress

Motherfucking FORTRAN after all these years I’ve found
That life seems to suck the marrow right out of your bones
You gotta hold on and not let it get you down

Coda:
You gotta hold on and not let it get you down

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

