The Beatles (still rule)

I wore my Beatles T-Shirt today. My wife gave me one for xmas with the cover of Let It Be – the boys in shaggy/bearded mode. I don’t know why, but it gave a lift to know I had the boys with me. Kind of a spring in my step on this 1st of April if you will. It was under my sweater so my colleagues couldn’t profit from it…however, when I got home and played a bit with the kids downstairs, it got rather warm and I stripped down to the famous t-shirt. I got a question from a neighbor’s daughter, “Qui sont ces gens-là?” I started to answer and she was already gone. Hmm. What do you expect from a 4-year old I suppose.

Once I got home and started getting the kids ready for dinner and bedtime, I spun up iTunes and my Beatles collection – I have everything from the Stereo Boxed Set through the BBC recordings and the three Anthology volumes – and – the Love album from Cirque de Soleil (I can’t believe I didn’t catch that show in Vegas!!). It is so refreshing to hear even in the background. My daughter was nodding her head in time to She’s So Heavy and my son was humming along to Yellow Submarine. The magic that John, Paul, Ringo and George produced is still, after 50 years!!, universal and captivating. At least for me.

It’s kind of funny but my folks never really listened to The Beatles when I was growing up. I only recall The Carpenters, Air Supply, Barry Manilow and Barbara Streisand – yikes! So, will my kids have the same “What a load of shit music you listened to dad!” reaction later in life to The Beatles? Anyway, I somehow acquired a single copy of Yesterday when I was like 10 and was hooked. I have this aunt who actually was in the UK teaching in about ’64 or ’65 and she got a call from someone, “Hey come on over, the boys are gonna lay something down on tape tonight”. Turned out that it was The Beatles and they were working on tracks for Revolver. Seriously. And she even went out once or twice socially with Ringo (or was it George?). Anyway, I’ll have to dedicate this post to the memory of my wonderful Aunt Pat. God rest your soul Pat, wherever you are!

I think I’ll even sleep in my T-shirt tonight 🙂

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

