Technical and Management Tracks

For years, I have kept on the technical track work-wise. This has been partly imposed, partly by choice. What this implies is that I have become a guru in several areas and respected at least by peers for this expertise – BUT – that I have not always gotten management recognition for my work because it wasn’t “management”. Well, that is going to change soon. I am, for the first time, switching tracks. Many colleagues are frankly surprised that I would forgo an existence of godliness to the field and invisibility to upper management but, at almost 42, if I am gonna make an attempt, I think it is now or never. Now I am gonna attempt to stay technical too so no worries, right? Why did I feel this was worth a post? Because, I find it a bit sad that there is an all-or-nothing here. But on the other hand, I think that the two profiles of technical guru and manager are often incompatible. That being said, I am hoping that my leadership qualities in technical matters will benefit my employees when I am being a leader in management as well. Like I told my new manager, I just jumped out of the plane – I hope the parachute opens!

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in work and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Technical and Management Tracks

  1. Arnaud says:

    Hi Fino,
    I was a technical guy b4 to jump manager. To be honest, I can’t completely leave technical side (not to say I want to keep technical activities) whereas I’m manager of 7 now. In one hand, it’s for my own interest – I like this. Secondly, I pretty conviced I could not properly appreciate the effort provided by my team without a technical background. That’s why I hope (and want to believe) technical and manager profiles are not incompatible.

    Side comment: I’m more than pleased te met you and be sure you have the recognition of more than one person in the company 😉

  2. Pingback: What a long, strange trip it’s been… | Fino's Weblog

  3. Pingback: The more things change -and- Take it as a challenge | Fino's Weblog

  4. Pingback: New Role, New Challenges | Fino's Weblog

  5. Pingback: Getting older but wiser? | Fino's Weblog

Leave a Reply

