The Little Things…

Me sleeping ages ago

…like sleep for example, are on the “nice to have” list once you have kids. And yet they are so vital. This morning, I slept in until 11am for the first time in probably about 4 years. Both of the kids are with their grandparents until Easter and my wife slipped off to the swimming pool. And for once, rather than jump out of bed and start busying myself with one project or another, I just keep sleeping. Now, that probably sounds banal and not noteworthy. But when you take into account that my daughter, even at 15 months and counting, still wakes up 3 to 5 nights a week between 1am and 5am, that I have to get up around 6am during the week to face the 45min -> 1h15min commute into work, and that my 4-year old son wakes up no later than 7am on weekends and is immediately running at 150kmph, well sleep is not exactly something that I am all that familiar with anymore. I suppose that I have had an average of 4h of sleep a night for the last 4 years.

So, this morning, I reveled in the silence. I rolled over and continued sleeping.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Being Dad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

