The more things change -and- Take it as a challenge

Paris Sunset (photo from kmsf on Flickr)

It is quite late so I think I am going to make this relatively short.

First, I need to dispel the fears of my fans and colleagues and this is a more appropriate place to do so than on my blog at work: I am not giving up my guru creds. Yes, I posted about going to management last week and, yes it is even – yikes – marketing – but – part of the deal for my agreeing to move over is that I keep my internal community, my Master Class, and my SharePoint library of 4000+ slides about our products. So, relax guys, I am not going anywhere just yet. The more things change, the more they stay the same 🙂

Now perhaps more related to the picture, I have done lots of bitching about Paris and the French. Maybe too much. That being said, I have also tried to come to terms with it as well. The other day, while – guess what – sitting in traffic, it occurred to me that perhaps I am looking at this entirely the wrong way. I mean it wouldn’t be the first time. Now, I have been here for 15+ years now and, you know what? Almost no one stays that long. Loads of friends of mine have moved away – out of Paris into the ‘burbs, out of France and even out of Europe back to the US or New Zealand or Australia or Canada or wherever. Paris is prohibitively expensive and can be a real pain in the ass. So, maybe the angle here is: take it as a challenge. I mean every day here is a struggle against loads of factors that are against you: the cost of living, the traffic, the pollution, the rude service…and loads of things pulling you away: space, green grass, the beach, the mountains…so the fact to stubbornly cling to this incredibly beautiful and dense piece of land and hang on for dear (family) life is perhaps something to be proud of rather than regret. So, there Paris – I take the challenge to stay here for as long as I can stand it. Take that!

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Paris and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The more things change -and- Take it as a challenge

  1. Erik Spierenburg says:

    Good luck on that new endeavour Mike! Although I am not sure what you are going to do exactly I wish you all the best.

    (BTW, I rarely comment but read your posts and enjoy them. The Windows book I bought too, Zappa, not so much 🙂 ….)

Leave a Reply

