Ode to Java (the kind you drink, not the kind you code)

COFFEE

Coffee! Anyone following me on FourSquare will notice that I spend a good bit of my microscopic free-time drinking coffee. I drink an 8 cup flask of Starbucks Roast in my Bodum French Press in the morning and drive in, then I have about 4 to 8 expressos at work and one or two after work. I am wired, what can I say. But without coffee…actually, it seems to be compensation for not running. As I mentioned previously, I have a busted meniscus so my marathons and triathlons have been sidelined for several months already and my belly is taking revenge as well as my caffeine addiction.

The funny thing is that I tried to knock coffee about 15 months ago. After 2 days, I got these splitting headaches that lasted almost all day. They were debilitating. I started having one expresso to take the edge off, and…well you know the rest of the story.

So, a friend of mine berated me on Facebook because I was going to Starbucks instead of supporting my surly, local, overpriced French bistro coffee. Actually, if he had paid attention, I do a Starbucks about 1 to 3 times per week whereas I have about 10-20 expressos in about 3-5 different cafés in my neighborhood over the same period. So why the Starbucks? Because I like to have a BIG FUCKING CUP sometimes rather than a small, acid, burning-a-hole-in-your-throat kind of coffee sometimes – particular in the morning and after lunch. Let’s just say this: Starbucks coffee is dependable taste-wise – it tastes the same whether I am in Paris, New York, Tokyo, Shanghai or Rio. Not so for expresso. The variety is huge between the paradise of Italian espresso to the abysmal Chinese or Japanese corporate, powered version. Here in Paris, there is a huge range in quality primarily depending on whether they are cutting corners by cost the arabica beans (the tasty ones that Starbucks uses) with the robusto ones (the acidic ones that you get heartburn from) and of course on the bean quality itself. There are just times that I choose consistent mediocrity over probable disappointment I suppose.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in coffee and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

