Honest is the best policy. Really?

Found this one because I already used a Lincoln picture two months ago

I was faced with a moral dilemma today. Tell my boss the honest truth about something (not something I did wrong or anything just a kind of view on something) or just pretend that there was no elephant in the middle of the room. Well, I went for the honesty approach. Political suicide perhaps given the context but I suppose that as a someone with a highly technical background and reputation, one cannot betray one’s values – even if it is one’s best interest. The thing is, I am not sure still whether it was the right thing to do. Well, I know it was morally the right thing to do, but perhaps Marketing is synonymous with stretching the truth? Well, I guess some truth only stretches so far. I think my lesson here is that I was able to state the truth is a fairly objective fashion rather than my usual “that is such a piece of shit” style of judgement so I suppose that is progress. But I am still wondering on whether this will really pay out in the end. The thing is that some truths are so deep that unraveling them (as I did tonight) is revealing of the entire process (whereas you could have thought it was just the superficial topic you were treating) and that is where the discomfort really sets in.

Well for better or for worse, I stuck with my instincts and “called ’em like I saw ’em”. May the cards fall as they may, we will have to see how it plays out.

The White Stripes - Icky Thump

In other news, still on a White Stripes kick today. I do love “Catch Hell Blues”, especially the swangy, grungy guitar riffs. This last album of the Stripes, Icky Thump, has incredible variety and depth (this despite the unenthusiastic review at pitchfork) and I totally agree with the allmusic observation that this album sounds the most like De Stijl which I reviewed yesterday. I think that 300 Mph Torrential Outpour Blues is one of my favorites but that takes nothing away from the title track and Bone Broke for rockers. The ballads like You Don’t Know What Love Is and the humorous, grandiose Conquest just add to the mix. I guess now it is their swan song and that we will all just have to wonder what Jack and Meg would have done next. Perhaps there’ll be a reunion tour someday?

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Honest is the best policy. Really?

  1. Kate says:

    Michael, if the truth was told for a well intended reason, and hearing the truth could help find a solution, then I’d say it was the right thing to do.

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      It was kind of one of those honest assessments where the fundamental assumptions are challenged and so the solution is a bit of a sea change. But, it is a truth that needed to be told. Thanks for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

