Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream

Smashing Pumpkins - Siamese Dream

Back when I reviewed Jane’s Addiction and the Chili’s, I was neglectful of another monument of alternative rock in the 90’s/00’s: Smashing Pumpkins’ Siamese Dream. Their first effort Gish was OK but my favorite is Siamese Dream from 1993. There is no let up on this disk. From the raging Cherub Rock start, the ironic Quiet and the beautiful Today, this album gets off to an amazing start. The jams here include Hummer, Geek USA, Soma, and Mayonaise – all classics. This is one of those albums for which one dreams of flying down I-95 in a convertible with a massive sound system blasting. You’ll see me head-thrashing at my steering wheel when one of the tracks comes up during my morning commute.
After this, they of course did the Mellon Collie albums which had highlights (1979 in particular) but the albums after that seemed to lose their way in Corgan’s ever expanding ego and mounting emotional problems. I prefer to jam out on Siamese Dream.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Smashing Pumpkins – Siamese Dream

  1. lili c. says:

    nice cuzfino thanx for doing this these R enjoyable and useful! Hugz ❤
    lili

  2. Mike says:

    I disagree with you on the Mellon Collie issue. Look your Siamese Dream argument is sound, I had a Firebird with T-Tops and I did in fact used to jam out to Siamese Dream. But Melon Collie has WAY more than just 1979 (although that’s my fav too). We’re talking Tonight, Tonight and Thirty Three and Muzzle. To me, Siamese Dream was the “Hey we’re the Smashing Pumpkins and we’re about to make shit real” album while Mellon Collie was the “We’ve proven we’re talented and we feel good about where we are professionally” album. Just my two cents. I met Billy Corgan when I was 14. My mom totally won passes to a private meet and greet. He’s every bit as amazing as you might imagine.

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      I do really like most of Mellon Collie but there are moments that I don’t really follow Corgan on there like We Only Come Out at Night and Tales of a Scorched Earth. Yes, I love Porcelain and Galapagos as much as most of the tunes on Siamese Dream, but there are no moments when I want to hit the skip button on SD whereas I can’t help myself at several points of MCatIS. I suppose I am a purist because I was looking at each as a whole and judging SD as the most complete even if it is almost 1 hour shorter.
      Thanks for the comment!!! I love these debates 🙂

  3. Mike says:

    BTW Michael, as a simple courtesy I wanted to let you know I found this blog because I do business development for The SuperGroup (you may have noticed a new twitter follower yesterday) and was looking into Dassault as a possible prospect. Found you, found your blog, read your blog, commented on your blog. You’re an interesting cat, I’ll give you that. Have a great day.

Leave a Reply

