Not fast enough :(

Sold Out!

Paris reminds me of Ferris Beuhler. Seriously, who else remembers the eternal quote “[Paris] moves pretty fast sometimes, if you don’t stop and take a look around once in a while, you might miss it”? OK so he said “life” where I said “Paris” but you get the drift. Why am I blabbing about this tonight? Because I happily went on vacation a week ago Monday with my kid and was so relaxed that I missed the sign up for the kid pool and when my wife reminded me tonight, it was all sold out. Now, you are wondering what the F…? Well, in Paris there are a very limited number of pools that are heated and thus appropriate in wintertime for young kids. There is one that is about 15-minutes walk away that my son has been going to since he was about 9-months old. Somehow, miraculously, I always was able to grab a slot. Well, this year I blew it by about 5 days. Literally. The demand is so high and the number of options is so low that if you don’t sign up in the hour following the opening of the registration, you are hosed. So, beside bearing the wrath of my wife (you forgot!!) and the future disappointment of my kids (you forgot!!), I feel like a schmuck. However, if I am allowed to defend myself here, how the hell can anyone be on top of everything in this freaking town all the time? It is insane. There are 300+ movie theatres, 100+ theatre theaters, 50+ museums, 1000’s of cafés, studios, galleries, restaurants…all that to say that life here can be a very frustrating experience. I live here knowing that I am missing, well, everything. And to miss this particular deadline by just a few days. I know after 15+ years here I should be used to it and not get screwed by these inscription things. Mea culpa. Argh.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Being Dad and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Not fast enough :(

  1. Philippe says:

    More pools in Montreal…

  2. Erik Spierenburg says:

    I registered my 4 yr old or swimming lessons. Half a year ago. She can start when she’s 6 and I live in a hick town in The Netherlands 🙂 It’s the same the whole world over …

Leave a Reply

