Marketing and hard numbers

Had a long argument with colleagues about numbers today. The way I got it figured, if folks are gonna roll out numbers for, say, market sizes and potential and such, then the numbers should have some basis in reality right? I mean, why just throw numbers around if you have no clue what they mean and how they should make you react. Particularly when dealing with market sizing numbers and when you are trying to determine what to focus on to ensure growth. I suppose the frustration also comes from the fact that in typical French fashion, everything is done bass-ackwards. We have already identified the things we think are necessary for growth and are trying to backfill with information on to justify ex-post-factum these choices. Hogwash I say. But then, I have been only in Marketing for two months now so what the fuck do I know, right? Well, I stuck to my guns and now have a wonderful slide that corresponds to exactly what the market study of choice says are my target markets but with no direct correlation whatsoever with what we termed as growth drivers. I think I am gonna just open the window and scream at a random neighbor just for kicks. Or just go get some sleep instead.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in work and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

