Movie Review: Shutter Island

Shutter Island - not the best vacation spot in Boston Harbor

No, I have not become a Carpaccio fan all of a sudden. Yes, I did see Inception and review it and this is of course his 2010 collaboration with Scorsese but it wasn’t my choice – they forced my hand…well figuratively anyway.

So I was at a friend’s house in Amsterdam over the weekend and Shutter Island came on the cable station. [Nerd side note: very cool that you can pause the viewing of a show being recorded and while it is still recording in the background, un-pause where you left off. Now, how the hell do they do that? two copies of the file or really good streaming buffers?]

Without giving away the story, Carpaccio is a Fed investigating a runaway convict in a prison for the criminally insane on Shutter Island in Boston Harbor. It is a thriller that is very well shot with grainy images and nice color. The acting is, well, Carpaccio directed by Scorsese which is to say good but perhaps a bit overreaching sometimes. I think I preferred the Scorsese-DeNiro vehicles (Taxi Driver, Raging Bull, Goodfellas) more than the Scorsese-DiCaprio ones (Gangs of New York, The Aviator, The Departed and Shutter Island). What I can say here is that for once in a Scorsese-DiCaprio film, Leo is not trying to re-create or avenge or revenge his father. No, this one is more about identity and what sanity or insanity are. There are some great scenes as DiCaprio explores the island in search of a nemesis – in particular a cliff-climbing scene over a boiling surf which I liked.

I can’t go into too much more on this film without spoiling it for those that haven’t seen it. I think it is worth being seen on a large screen because there are lots of dark scenes that a television without sufficiently good blacks would not do justice to.

As for Carpaccio, I guess that his performance was good, I just had a hard time with the end of the film which I found a little anti-climactic. Having said that to a fan of this movie today, I realize now that it might be a somewhat shocking assessment, but it was shared by my wife and my friend that we watched it with. So, let me know what you think o reader of this post…

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Movie Review: Shutter Island

  1. Pingback: The Law of 4, WHO is the 67th? « jazzercrak07

  2. neha says:

    I dont know why you used the word ‘anti-climactic’?. i agree this not a perfect thriller.but a new concept with just few layers.

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      I don’t know but I felt like the tension that had been built up during the rest of the film was kind of squandered. Just my feeling I suppose. Can’t really propose a different ending but you know, that’s what movies do sometimes – provoke different reactions in each viewer, right?
      Thanks so much for the comment and happy reading.

Leave a Reply

