Angry Birds: Psychological Profile

Angry Birds

I have been wondering about the addictive aspects of Angry Birds. Honestly, I played the first set of levels pretty much constantly when this came out, what 18 months ago or something? Actually, can you believe that is has only been that long since December 2009? Is it just me or does it seem that Rovio has been around as long as the iPhone? I mean I know its not true but the success of this game is just outstanding.

I got to thinking about why that is exactly. There’s a certain childish/reminiscent aspect to using a slingshot. I mean we used to use slingshots to shoot rocks at birds and here the twist is that we are using the birds to shoot at the pigs. Funny twist. And those pigs. They really conjure up feelings of aggression don’t they? I suspect it is that hitlerian mustache and those kaiser helmets that they wear. Plus that insidious snickering. But as I continued to think about it, the color of green make me momentarily hallucinate and imagine that they were actually frogs. And if you recall some of my rants about living over here in Republique Grenouille, I think that my twisted mind forgot the porcine aspect of these little monsters and was really focusing all this feathery violence against the froggies!

Hold 'Em Legend

In other gaming news, I am within two wins of the last Achievement in Hold ‘Em Legend. I realized that in terms of Level, it tops out at 99 and just keeps piling on points. I have around $8B in cash and am just trying to get that last badge. Revenge perhaps on FourSquare where I am condemned to under 20 badges for life I think. Anyway, perhaps all these 35k hands I played will actually pay off in Vegas someday? I didn’t think so either.

Going back home for the first time in 2 years. Will try to blog but no guarantees. This Miami boy needs some serious off-time.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Games and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

