Returning Home, Back to Paris

Being an ex-pat for over 16 years now makes concept of “home” a bit special. I mean is home where my dad, mom and sister are,where I grew up? Or is it the glittering tourist trap several thousand miles away here in Paris where I live with my wife and kids and where I work? Perhaps the answer is both. In any case, it is a relief to sleep in my own bed again. In fact, I am not going to belabor the point here tonight but I can honestly saw that I am a bit torn between my two countries and think that I can nearly be objective in pointing out advantages and disadvantages of each. For the moment, jet lag is getting the best of me and I am going to put down my iPad for the night. The real challenge will be to renew my stock of articles quickly so that I keep the creative juices flowing. Pity that I didn’t really get the time this vacation to work on some fiction…

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in travel and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Returning Home, Back to Paris

  1. travelingmad says:

    Home is where the heart is 🙂
    Even after living in Paris about a year, I still consider New Jersey my home. Maybe I’ll consider Paris the new home once I fluently learn French (hehe).

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      Thanks Erik 🙂
      Not that I know of – more weight gained by forced stop on distance running to be honest. Perhaps the next chronicle should be how to lose the flab but without doing a severe diet – impossible task?

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      Thanks for the comment. I don’t know what you are going to do here in Paris but I’d recommend the French classes at La Sorbonne because they are excellent. Perhaps a coffee one of these days?

Leave a Reply

