NSFCCDP Film Review: Cowboys and Aliens (2011)

Cowboys and Aliens

OK, so my expectations were initially high because I thought “Shit both cowboys and aliens in the same move – that’s gotta rock!” Then I reconsidered and thought, “Man, that could also really suck.” So, I had to naturally make a determination so with one other NSFCCDP member greycrane. To be honest, it was pretty good. I mean, it was less original than, say, District 9 but it didn’t suck like, say, Green Hornet or Suckerpunch either. Daniel Craig pulls off the switch from 007 to Alien-escapee pretty well. Harrison Ford keeps a relatively neutral accent (but several Indiana smirks along the way) until the end and remains, well, entertaining. The love interest was pretty hot, even if she was an alien in disguise. The aliens themselves, well, they were your typical gooey, reptilian nasty fuckers. The original gimmick was the little set of hands that came out of their chests when they got hot and bothered. OK, so the plot, well, it was your typically “aliens are here to steal our natural resources so let’s fight space travelers with wicked guns and airplanes with flintlocks and bows and arrows (yes! yes! there were some Injuns too!) and call it an even fight. You know, scifi is always pushing the limits of your suspension of disbelief. In this case, mine was pretty suspended until just before the end when the hordes of angry lizard-dudes just kind of vanished once the others ones figured they wanted to split. Weird how they just disappeared from the script like a typo or something.

Long story short: not bad, some originality, good special effects, no humor…3.5 out of 5 from this NSFCCDP member. I think that greycrane agreed but I’ll leave him the liberty of commenting if he feels like it.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to NSFCCDP Film Review: Cowboys and Aliens (2011)

  1. Dave says:

    Yeah, I think you covered it pretty well. I think they should have dialed up the humor a bit — aliens lassoing cowboys from insect ships is kind of funny, or could have been.
    “I didn’t tell you because I didn’t know if I could heal this body,” I’m definitely going to use that one the next time I walk naked out of my own pyre.

  2. Pingback: NSFCCDP Movie Roundup and My Favorite TV Series in 2011 | Fino's Weblog

  3. Pingback: NSFCCDP Movie Review: Wrath of the Titans – Good SFX, Bad Acting | Fino's Weblog

Leave a Reply

