New school year starts today

It’s that time of year again – back to school. This year my daughter jumps to the “big” kids section of daycare and my son goes to the “middle” section of kindergarden. So far, so good. The French system is quite different from wht I remember in the State but at least so far has been reasonably good for the two kids. That being said, the 16000 job cuts in the National Education system announced today as well as the constant menace of strikes doesn’t bode well for the coming years. I suppose that for the kids at their respective ages of 1 1/2 and 4 1/2, the most important thing at the moment is learning to share and play with other kids and concentrate on what adults are saying. Admittedly, it is a real pleasure to see them learning and growing so quickly – you just wish you could tell to take their time and enjoy it because these easy days will not last very long.

I blogged earlier this summer about my kid and English. Well, things are improving a bit.no,he didn’t strike up conversations with my dad this summer, but he is starting to occasionally respond to me with words in English. One kid he really likes (the son of a good friend of mine) lives in the UK so he is trying to motivate himself to learn a bit more to communicate with him next time they see each other. For me, it is becoming more and more of a challenge to speak exclusively in English because of the immersion here, but I am really trying.

Ok, enough of all that. Tomorrow, I’ll describe the Tra expo at Palazzo Fortuny in Venice 🙂

This entry was posted in Being Dad and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

