On hold…schmoozing

Driving in rainy traffic in Paris

I feel like I spend an unreasonable time waiting. I am waiting on a new job. I am on telephone holding wait probably once a day. I open WebEx calls and wait for folks to arrive. I think the worst wait is my daily 1h45m to 2h00 commute staring at brake lights on Parisian highways and byways. It drives me nuts. Yeah, its exciting to drive next to the Seine and see the Eiffel Tower across the river sparkling in the fog and all, but I’d rather be home already. On the positive side, it gives me loads of time to listen to music and during the evening ride home perhaps call some folks in American time zones for work-related stuff, but sitting in traffic is such a bummer. Some folks wonder why I don’t use a scooter but I only need to point out the helmeted lumps on the pavement being scooped up by spatulas by the paramedics to demonstrate why that is a lame idea. I could take a bus but standing up with folks elbowing me in the ribs and insane bus drivers that accelerate and stop like on a Le Mans race course makes reading nearly impossible and the rate of theft of iPads and iPhones is alarmingly high from what I hear. So, I spend my mornings and evenings waiting in the car to move forward and creating new insults for the French drivers ahead of me. Great stuff, huh? Well, a lame excuse for a blog post but maybe good for a snicker or two….

As for the second half of this post, schmoozing is another unfortunate evil, don’t you think? If you want to move up and stop waiting (at least in my case), you need to do some major schmoozing. Sometimes this entails some personal sacrifice. Personally, I just decided to go a little earlier to an event in Orlando for the official schmoozefest which starts Monday morning rather than chill with my folks in Miami for those two days. I am offering in exchange the perils of 9h30 in an airplane alone with my two little monsters for a week in April for the grandparents to see them. Fair change? Probably, although my blood pressure rises at the thought of two scream-me-me’s for that long Paris-Miami flight. I mean, how do you deal with one having to go potty and the other one squirming. Yeah, I worry too much. Guess I am just too tired. So, off to bed with me.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to On hold…schmoozing

  1. Rick says:

    I’m coming late to Orlando. Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

