Artistic Family?

I never really considered myself as coming from an artistic family, but I think I was selling some of my kin short. So, quick pitch of two folks in my family that rock – one literally and one figuratively.

The RBs in concert

My cousin Ben has been a Cali-punk singer for at least 20 years now. His current project is The Roadside Bombs. If you like punk rock, I think you’ll appreciate the RBs as much as I do. He actually has had many bands over the years, but this one seems to have lasted longer and gotten a little more press and publicity. One story I may have shared earlier on this blog is that, years ago, Ben fronted a band that opened for Green Day across California just before Joe Armstrong&Co went mega with Dookie. I recall Ben dissing them, saying they weren’t real punks and had sold out. Years later over several beers, he admitted he was just a tad jealous that they made it and he was still doing odd jobs when he wasn’t singing. The great irony here is that his daughter is a huge Green Day fan. My how times change…

Lana's Monroe

My other artistic relative is my Aunt Lana. She has been painting since I was a kid. Her style is naïve with loads of color. She loves to take celebrities as you see here and reinterpret press photos. I have another work of hers in my office and had a colleague inquire about it as I wrote recently. So, now I am thinking maybe I should create a Facebook page for her to promote her stuff. What do you think? Interesting idea anyway. If readers are interested, I can post more of the jpgs I have.

Oh, I have yet another cousin that is an incredible cook and caterer as well so there is one in the culinary arts as well.

So there you go. Oh, as a bonus, my feeble attempt at a self-portrait. What you do think? 🙂

Fino "Autoportait in D Minor"

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Artistic Family?

  1. bloohmoon says:

    Beautiful painting from your aunt. You should help her promote her stuff here and on Facebook. Just my opinion.

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      Yeah, I think so too. Need to make sure she’s ok with it first.
      So I am assuming that based on my sketch that I should keep my day job, right? 🙂
      Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Leave a Reply

