A sort of homecoming, Part 1

I am headed back home on the way to a business meeting tomorrow. I get asked a lot how often I go back home since i have been living over in Paris for 16 odd years. Well, on average, I’d say it’s about once a year. This year, it’ll be two times. This weekend and then for almost two weeks with the kids in April. Going back home alone and with kids and with wife and kids are totally different experiences. Well, this will be the first time alone with kids, but having the other two, I can contrast and compare. When I am back solo, it reminds me a lots of weekends home from Gainseville almost 20 years ago. It is pretty relaxed and casual with no set agenda – well, a little set, but loads of wiggle room. Plus, of course, I have time to chat with my folks. With wife and kids, it is a totally different story – stress, schedules, naps, mealtime, bathtime, activities, bedtime, and her we go again. It is not really all that relaxing until the kids are sleeping and I can have a beer with my folks by the pool…there again my wife can share the load a bit. When I go back with just the kids, I fear that there will be precious little chill time but that remains to be seen. For the moment, I am flying out tomorrow morning, solo, and I can’t wait for Mom’s chili, Dad’s BBQ, and cigars by the pool. I’ll try to keep up my 27-day blogging streak but don’t hold me to it…I have some catching up to do!

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

