Happy Valentines Day

As much as I complain about living here, Paris has its perks. Tonight, my wife and I returned to the spot where I took her on our first date almost exactly 10 years ago. The city was beautiful as we descended from the Metro Pont Sainte Marie and crossed Ile Saint Louis towards the back of Notre Dame and then over the Seine again to the Quartier Latin. The resto was packed, so we backtracked to the Curio Parlor which is a small cocktail bar on rue des Bernardins. It is so discrete that if you didn’t know it was there, you’d walk right past it like I did for years. Inside, it is a speak-easy with low lighting and small parloirs on the sides and one of the best whiskey collections in the entire town. I ordered a Vieux Rectangle (a twist on one of the oldest French cocktails, Le Vieux Carré). It was delicious. My wife had a La Vie en Rose which was basically champagne with some various additives that gave it a sweet, fruity flavor. The music was light lounge rock and jazz, very romantic. Just upon leaving, I inquired about Sazerac (an obsession of mine since watching Treme S02), and was pleasantly shocked when the barman pulled a bottle off the shelf! I’ ll be back for that drink another time.

We then traipsed over to our real destination, Anahuacalli (which means down by the river in Mayan I believe) for tortillas, salsa, and guac. We sat and I casually mentioned to the waitress that our table ten years hence was up on the balustrade – she had us wait until that table was cleared let us sit there again – the service is outstanding. Their tortilla sopa(Sopa Azteca) was scrumptious as was my Mixiote and my wife’s Chile Rellenos. The black margerita (with Kalua thus the “black” was a tad disappointing but everything else was perfect.

So, we had a wonderful small night and got home be 12h15 to relieve Felix the friendly babysitter.
I hope you too had a nice Valentines with your special someone.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Paris and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Happy Valentines Day

  1. Romance…a wonderful thing! Good going Fino…the way to take care of the wife.

  2. yaykisspurr says:

    Awesome….congratulations on 10 years together….

  3. Pingback: Take me to the next whiskey bar | Fino's Weblog

  4. Eimear Fraid says:

    Be gentle to all and stern with yourself. Saint Teresa of Avila

Leave a Reply

