Random Notes for a Monday

House of Lies S01

As for TV, I am still trying to catch up on Rescue Me (but I have a LONG way to go) and following Californication S05 and Justified S03 and really enjoying them. I tried a new show yesterday, Hou$e of Lie$ and found it excellent. The whole management consulting thing was ripe for some satire. I will, as usual, do a more complete review at the end of the each show but lacking other interesting topics, I thought I’d let you know what I was watching. Oh, I did get through another episode or two of The Walking Dead S01 but find it a bit excruciating and even a little boring. I know, the humans are supposed to be the bad boys here but I am not yet that far along in the plot 😦

Meanwhile, I am not thrilled about being back at work. It was so nice just heading out on the slopes every day last week. Do you know that feeling of weightlessness when you are surfing (or skiing I suppose) on icy, off-piste, fresh snow? I got that feeling twice this time around and found it quite addictive. A friend today told me of skiing in Colorado with snow powder up to his knees and that is definitely another experience I would like to have.

Last reflection, the kids are at the grandparents this week and the house is so…quiet! It is amazing how everything changes between having both kids or just one at a time or – most rarely – no kids at all. The dynamic is totally different every time. But I think what one realizes the most when the kids are not around is how much time that they take up. With an empty nest, it seems like there is almost an infinite time between dinner and bedtime whereas with them here – fighting to get some food in their bellies, soap on their arms, and heads on their pillows – it is so exhausting that normally bedtime comes as quick as a Florida thunderstorm.

OK, so I have some more TV to catch up on. Until tomorrow dear reader!

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Being Dad, TV Series and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

