Making Blogging a Habit: 5 Tips and Tricks

It may not seem like much, but trying to write something interesting on a daily basis is quite challenging, not to say obsessive-compulsive. Perhaps it is just me, but not having hit 300 posts last year during the #postaday2100 postathon here on WordPress.com last year, I really want to make it a daily task for myself. I found a couple of useful ideas for blogging that I thought I’d share tonight:

1/ As I read somewhere, you have to do it consistently. Set a goal like once a week or something. Blogging is like running, once you start developing a taste for it, you want to do it more and more and can see improvements progressively.

2/ Take down ideas during the day as they occur to you. I use Remember the Milk for this. I think that I get an average of an idea or two for posts per day, but if I don’t immediately write them down, they evaporate like dreams when you wake up.

3/ Use the Publish feature of WordPress. You can post-date or schedule posts on WordPress.com so occasionally, I get inspired and write three posts that I schedule over the following days. Other times, like now for instance, I get behind by a couple of days and while I recuperate ideas and such, I post-date a few posts to keep the rhythm up.

4/ Be kind to your readers. I make it a habit to immediately accept and reply to comments on this blog because if folks take out the time to read what I have to write – AND – comment on it as well, it makes me feel simply great and I want to express my appreciation. It becomes more of a conversation than a monologue and that is what pleases me the most.

5/ Be a good blog citizen. Of these five rules, I am the least good at this one. With two kids, I have a challenge just to write my blog entry, much less read other blogs. But it is critical to become part of the blogging community particularly if you want to increase readership. Plus, you can feel like you are making others feel as good as you do when folks read and comment on your blog.

About Michael Finocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in blogging and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Making Blogging a Habit: 5 Tips and Tricks

  1. Tom Baker says:

    All very good points for new and seasoned bloggers.

  2. Very good points–true! I struggle to read other blogs (I’d love to read ALL of them), so I spend about 30 minutes/day reading and stop. Or, I have a marathon day where I schedule my posts a few days ahead, then spend 2-3 days just reading. :)

Leave a Reply

