TV Series: The Walking Dead S04E09 – The Aftermath Part 1: Rick, Carl and Michonne survive

The-Walking-Dead-Season-4-point-5-posterThe Walking Dead came back for the second half of Season 5 on Sunday. Yeah, I also find the split season thing annoying but as a friend recently said, “it is what it is”. I was frankly disappointed with the first half of the season because I felt the Governor story ending was a bit predictable. That being said, it had a few moments…but none as interesting as E09 where we see Carl and Rick and Michonne dealing with the aftermath of the flight from the prison. It was a really good episode for TWD I felt, particularly the Michonne storyline (probably my favorite character!). I thought that the film quality was better than in the prison or in the town – I prefer the out-in-the-open camerawork I guess. I also found that it gave more of an apocalyptic atmosphere as once again, each character is fending for themselves out in the zombie-infested Georgia countryside.

michonne-new-pets-the-walking-dead-afterMichonne, oh poor Michonne. I loved her dream sequence and how her sliding the katana into the knife rack gave it away as such. I felt such sorrow and loneliness watching here. It got me to thinking about what draws us to TWD: I think that we realise watching this that what is really critical for us humans is human contact – preferably with family and friends – and the lack of that is what drives the characters crazy – I felt this was most outstandingly displayed when Michonne went postal on the herd of walkers – even her own two zombie-pets. I felt so incredibly hollow and sad for her. It was as perfect a depiction of horror and loneliness as any that this show has brought us.

the-walking-dead-season-4-episode-9Carl certainly had some badass moments in this episode, but also some back-to-reality as he realised when he was nearly bitten. It was interesting to see the reversal between him and Rick, but I didn’t believe for a second that the TWD writers were gonna pull a Game of Thrones “Ned is Dead” moment on us. I’d gamble that Rick is here for the duration. But I do like how Carl is developing – much more of a real, visceral character now. It will be interesting to see how he evolves.

Next week, we get to see a few of the other survivors. I am having a hard time seeing how they tie in Neegan, Ezekiel, The Hilltop, and The Kingdom into this particular storyline, unless some of the stranded ex-Team Prison folks happen upon them in like E12 or something. It will be interesting to see how they pull this off. I would find it a bit annoying though if Team Rick became a shadow of the Stark family on GoT destined to never cross paths again…but we shall see, right?

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in TV Series and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to TV Series: The Walking Dead S04E09 – The Aftermath Part 1: Rick, Carl and Michonne survive

  1. There’s TV series called Aftermath. That is about zombie too.

Leave a Reply

