Avengers 2 (2015) – Filler before Avengers 3 and 4

images
Maybe they got spoiled by success? Or maybe the writers were all working on Daredevil or Agent Carter? In any case, Avengers 2 was a relatively disappointing followup to the excellent Avengers of 2012. Too much CG, too many frivolous plotlines, a sappy romance and predictably unsuccessful between Black Widow and Hulk – there is not much here to praise. I felt that the army of Ultrons was too reminiscent of Iron Man 2 and that the jokes felt old and crusty. I felt that Fury’s appearance was useless as was the help-carrier. The world destruction scenario seemed pointless. I guess the only things I appreciated here were Scarlett in black leather and James Spader’s Robotic Reddington-Ultron character. I think that they started looking forward to the two ultimate Avenger movies Infinity War 1 and 2 and needed to get this one under the rug and this undermined the quality of this intermediary product. The characters also were less engaging for me: I felt that they were too sentimental about Hawkeye and tried to tease us into thinking that he would not survive and I thought Thor was nearly useless here. I know that there are probably many moviegoers that probably do not agree, but I would not place this among the great superhero flicks. I guess I need to wait for Deadpool and Infinity Wars now…

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Movies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Avengers 2 (2015) – Filler before Avengers 3 and 4

  1. Pingback: The Blacklist S02 (2014, 2015) – Fed up with Lizzie | Fino's Weblog

Leave a Reply

