The Blacklist S02 (2014, 2015) – Fed up with Lizzie

blacklistposter2I really liked The Blacklist S01. I really like James Spader’s Reddington (and the Red aspects of his Ultron), but this second season seemed a bit slipshod. It seemed to go on forever and repeat the tired themes of, Oh no they kidnapped Red! Oh no, they kidnapped Lizzie! over and over again. Plus, since I suppose loads of female fans complained about Tom’s disappearance from the show, well Tom was back and what a sweatheart (despite the SS tattoo that lasted up until E22!). The cabal was finally revealed with a very anticlimactic reveal with the prism thing. So what? That was so, well, anticlimactic for lack of a better term. Is there anyone out there that really gives a hoot about Lizzie and her distrusting of Red and then after 10000000 examples her “oh you were protecting me, I understand now”? It made me feel a little ill and ripped off to be honest. I mean 44 episodes for the payoff that we STILL don’t know whether Red is her dad or just a family friend and how that fire started. Jeez Louise! I think that I may have wasted my time on this one. The writers had Lizzie going in all directions at once. Oh, and let’s see, I am an ingenious bad guy but when the FBI comes to find me, I leave a USB key with ALL the goods plugged into my laptop as I escape out the window. Really? Did anyone else see a jumping shark? Sorry, but suspension of disbelief can only go so far. Is this the fault of network TV? Well, maybe not because Hannibal features a gripping story, gorgeous filmwork and consistent writing so we know it is possible. Maybe James Spader can shake up the writers room with his clout and get a better S03 late this year? If not, I don’t think I am gonna be watching this one when it comes back.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in TV Series and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Blacklist S02 (2014, 2015) – Fed up with Lizzie

  1. Well put! Season 1, Ep(I-don’t-know-but-I-am-only-in-this-to-see-what-the-relation-between-Lizzie-and-Red-is) and I am ready to call it quits. Just lead me to the Wikipedia page that explains the plot and I will be OK. Now, Vikings, that is a different story.

  2. Pingback: TV Series: Best Shows of 2014 (Updated) (Updated Again) | Fino's Weblog

Leave a Reply

