Arctic Monkeys vs. Franz Ferdinand

I’ll keep the suspense for tomorrow on my final review of It Might Get Loud. Just before I head out to a corporate shindig I’ll sound off on another battle of the 00’s bands. Last time I pitted Arctic Monkeys vs. Kaiser Chiefs and gave the nod to AM. Well, this time I did a head-to-head of Franz Ferdinand against reigning champ the Arctic Monkeys.

Listening to Franz, I got a little bored to be honest. Maybe it’s the mix – the bass doesn’t really come in strong enough and the lyrics rest rather flat and unaggressive. When I switched over to AM, I instinctively cranked the volume to 11. The bass line is much stronger, the guy is banging on those skins and the music has a much more “fuck you” rock-n-roll feel to it. I mean rather than hearing about a guy NOT picking up a girl at a party in “Take Me Out”, I’d rather fantasize about getting the girl like in “Still Take You Home”. I guess that’s how I feel some rock-n-roll needs to be…I tried listening again to Franz and just got bored with each song to be honest. There is a bit of spunk there but again not enough “fuck you”. I mean when I switched back to Franz, I turned the volume DOWN again. Switching back again to “Fake Tales of San Francisco”, and turning the volume to 11 once again, I thought of comparing them to The Hold Steady in terms of the edge and the song writing. OK, so HS is more Minnesota and the drugs are a little harder but the storytelling format and the attitude is pretty similar IMHO. Do you agree? Feel free to comment…

Perhaps I am just getting too old but I have to give the nod to Arctic Monkeys again even though as previously mentioned, their latest Humbug sucks rocks.

About mfinocchiaro

IT Architecture Guru for large PLM software company but dabbling in Web 2.0 and other stuff.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arctic Monkeys vs. Franz Ferdinand

  1. Angela Lau says:

    Ohman, the headline Arctic Monkeys vs Franz Ferdinand caught my eye in the postaweek2011 tag.

    I agree with almost everything you said about AM and FF, but not about Humbug.
    The album rocks socks. It’s a very mature sound compared to the last couple of albums, and incredible lyrics. Natural progression from all the “young” rocknroll.

    • mfinocchiaro says:

      Thanks Angela. I posted on Humbug back here. I felt it was too low key. I was always expecting it to pick up pace and when it didn’t. I mean the songs off the first two albums had nice licks and memorable choruses. I can’t quote or remember a single tune off of Humbug. I will go back and listen to the lyrics as you suggest though!

  2. Greg says:

    No competition here: the Monkeys have soul, whereas Franz is boring and forgettable.
    – Greg

Leave a comment